Experience PCC Academics Continuing Education Distance Learning Faculty & Staff Contact
Apply Now Click Here

NCCCS Signs Revised Transfer Agreement with Independent Colleges and Universities

RALEIGH—N.C. Community College System President Scott Ralls and N.C. Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU) President Hope Williams met Thursday to sign a revised Independent Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (ICAA) between the two higher education systems.

The revised ICAA moves Pitt Community College and other community college students toward their four-year degree goals by clearly defining transfer pathways and how earned credit hours fit into the requirements of signatory institutions.

“This signing, joined with our revised agreement with the UNC system in 2014, brings North Carolina’s higher education alignment to a new level,” said Ralls. “It means increased access and opportunity for our community college students and clearly defined pathways to success at both public and private higher education institutions in our state.

“I commend the N.C. Independent Colleges and Universities for proactively working toward this agreement for the benefit of both systems’ students and their families.”
Williams said North Carolina private colleges and universities have a strong relationship with the state’s 58 community colleges.

“This new agreement will provide an earlier introduction of transfer students to the four-year independent college or university they want to attend,” Williams said. “The additional step will make the transfer process more efficient and effective for students and for our colleges and universities.”

The NCICU Board approved the revised ICAA at its annual meeting in March, and the State Board of Community Colleges officially adopted it two months later. In the time since, 21 of the state’s 36 independent colleges and universities have signed the agreement, which does the following:

The ICAA is consistent with the recently signed comprehensive articulation agreement between North Carolina Community Colleges and the University of North Carolina System, meaning students will have the same transfer guarantees regardless of the type of senior North Carolina institution they attend.

Approximately 2,000 community college students transfer to one of North Carolina’s 36 independent higher education institutions each year. The revised ICAA, updated from the previous articulation agreement signed in 2007, is effective for new college transfer students in the fall of 2015 at the signatory colleges and universities.

The 21 independent institutions that have signed on to the revised ICAA are as follows: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Bennett College, Brevard College, Campbell University, Chowan University, Guilford College, Lees-McRae College, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Mars Hill University, Meredith College, Methodist University, Montreat College, North Carolina Wesleyan College, Pfeiffer University, Salem College, Shaw University, St. Andrews University, University of Mount Olive, William Peace University and Wingate University.